Author Interview – Shanker Naganathan

Shanker Int.

“It is increasingly a dog eat dog world and nothing is permanent. It is futile to expect humans to be humane, be it your family or your workplace. If you have seen the movie movie “Up in the Air”, you will understand what I mean. Whether you are the lady engineer who sacrificed time and energy to create a successful new system or a father who invested his emotion and time in your son, you are no longer immune to the dreaded pink slip. I have portrayed this world with a bit of truth and plenty of imagination. I hope this book makes us think and reevaluate our priorities,” said Author Shanker Naganathan while talking about his book.

“The home is a ground plus three storey structure. It must be about 25 years old, at the least, but badly in need of painting. The ground floor entrance leads to a very big open hall housing the administrative office.
Everything is minimal, a skeleton staff and furniture, most of them, old ones, gifted by well-intentioned people and a reception area which is most of the time unattended. On the left side of the hall, behind an enclosed wall, are steep flights in a dark and mossy well of stairs. Being monsoon time, the walls are damp and smell musty.
The drainpipes for terrace water are broken in many places and in some cases, do not touch the ground. Plants sprout from the drainpipes and the walls are lined with cracks, where roots have spread. Organic detritus from dog turds and cattle shit and decayed plants are prominent among the piles of organic discards in the vacant ground, at the back of the building. Trees and plants protrude vertically, in no regular order.
Haphazard and disorderly, just as the minds of the inmates. With the dark monsoon clouds hovering around the sky, add a dilapidated building and depressed inhabitants, the melancholy is complete.
“I am vapour and I don’t exist. With my unseeing eyes, deaf ears and distracted mind, I live in a different dimension. Reality does not make any sense to me anymore.
The extant remains of the man.”” – From the back cover of the book Devil at Close Quarters

When Author Shanker Naganathan was interviewed recently about his latest book, his response was as follows:

Q1. What is your book about?
A: The book is about a loving couple, who settle down in Mumbai in pursuit of a career. An incident at the hospital during the birth of their son turns their world upside down. The ups and downs of their work and family life, the shallowness of relationships in this dog eat dog world are showcased in this book.

Q2. What inspired you to write this book?
A: I studied in a Municipal Tamil Medium school and graduated in Chemistry, in the English medium. During my college days, I developed a passion for the English language and Shakespeare was my favourite. Later days, A.J. Cronin was my favourite but Wodehouse, Jack London, etc. were my prime choices. My love for languages continued and I learnt Italian and Spanish. Many of my articles have been published in leading newspapers, which opened the gate for an attempt to write a work of fiction. My inspiration came from my observation of the world and the people around me and the stockpile of books I read. When you read so much fiction, naturally, your imagination is kindled and this also inspired me to write this book. My life in Mumbai since my bachelor days and my visits to my brother in Seattle, U.S.A. exposed me to these two fantastic cities which I have tried to use as a backdrop to the story.

Q3. What do you hope your readers take away from this book?
A: In the current situation, Corona Virus has taught us to value personal relationships and taught us that this world is a Maya. Respect your elders and give your best shot to your family, friends and relatives. My work also points out in tragic details how a lack of understanding in these fields can lead to a vacuum in life. Hindsight is always bitter.

Q4. Is writing your full-time career? Or would you like it to be?
A: No it is a hobby and passion for me, I would like to write more for sure.

Q5. What was your dream job when you were younger?
A: I wanted to be a doctor but could not as I had to support my family.

Shop his book now on Amazon and BlueRose Online Store.

Leave a comment